Skip navigation

I picked a neat trick at http://stackoverflow.com/ to cancel a command from the shell with “C-q C-c RET” if I need to interrupt a process in a remote shell opened via tramp (only with my windows laptop which I run with cygwin and emacs 23.1.91.1)

Until now, without it, I found it very frustrating for example trying to cancel a heredoc inside a shell: due to some obscure reason, typing “C-c C-c(comint-interrupt-job) rather than get me back at the shell prompt, would kill the connection with the message “Process shell interrupt”.

Again though this alternative is only necessary to me when connected to remote hosts using the windows version of emacs, it’s a sweet discovery nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

